Mingo County Redevelopment Authority


Leasha Johnson, Executive Director

Johnson was appointed to the position of Executive Director on January 1, 2015, following the retirement of Steve Kominar.  She has been employed by the Authority since 2004.  Johnson is a 1988 graduate of West Virginia University where she earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration.  Prior to joining the Authority, she worked in the land management division of a large coal company for thirteen years.  She is a member of the Southern Economic Development Council, a member of the WV Economic Development Council, she chairs the WVU Mingo County Extension Service Advisory Committee, and she chairs the Mingo County Board of Education’s Local Education Advisory Council.  She is a member of the Hatfield-McCoy Regional Recreation Authority board of directors, as well as the Williamson Health and Wellness Center. Johnson is also an ex-officio member of the Corridor G Regional Development Authority board of directors.

In Memory of Mike Whitt,

On November 24th, 2011, Mingo County lost a great visionary, and West Virginia lost a champion for the people. Mike Whitt was the first and only Executive Director of the Mingo County Redevelopment Authority until his passing. The Redevelopment Authority lost a dear friend, and we are all privileged to have known him and to have worked with him toward making Mingo County a better place.

Whether serving as a public school teacher, working in the mining industry, serving in the House of Delegates or working on economic development projects, Mike’s passion for southern West Virginia was perpetuated by the success of countless development projects and partnerships that he so delicately pioneered.

Priscilla Reed, Accounts Payable Clerk

Donna Sizemore, Secretary